On Friday, December 8th, volunteers from the Board of Directors gathered early to

Harry Hewlett setting up the sound.

set up tables, a food buffet and the sound stage. Lot’s of preparation went into producing a successful program for the evening at the historic Sons of Hermann Hall. After a warm welcome by Barbara McMillen, the opening performance was by the very talented and very lovely Ireland. Her cutting edge style, plus excellent songwriting and performance skills made her the perfect act to set the tone for the night. The Americana winners were

Ireland performed 4 songs in the semifinalist

awarded by Barbe and then Alexis Tapp performed her song that

Alexis Tapp performs Searching For Hope

was a semifinalist in the Christian/Inspiratioal category. Dorinda and Bobby Smith awarded the Christian/Inspirational awards. He are the highlights in pictures.  Thanks to Gene Schillsci for the photos.



We then had a performance of Cornbread by Country semifinalist Don Wall.




Michael Brandenberger presents a surprise award to Bobby Montgomery for outstanding service to the Dallas Songwriters Association.




Semifinalist Mike P Ryan performs Darkness Falls, Fais Do Do, How It vFeels, Life Beneath the Rust, and These Two Hands.








Singer Loralai performs Charles Carter’s song, Dreamland, with the help of mom and dad, Linda and Joe Milton .


Semifinalist Al Lambreras performs Dance On The Ocean and It Just Gets Better




Mike P Ryan gets award from Harry Hewlett for 3rd place Pop/Rock for his song Fais Do



Semifinalist Megan Sullivan performs Say Anything and Tension Leave This Town.



Megan Sullivan received a plaque from Harry Hewlett with award for second place in the Singer/Songwriter category for her song, Say Anything.



Barbe McMillen presents Mike Ryan with the Grand Prize Winner award for his song, Fais Do Do.




Don Wall won the random drawing from all of the entries and received a waterproof blue tooth speaker from DSA presented by Barbe McMillen. Monthly meeting guest speaker Rod Phelps drew entry #13, Hard To Handle, a song entered by Don.
Lyric Contest Director Gene Schillaci presents Winner of the Summer 2017 Lyric Contest Award to Alexis Tapp.




Harry presents Allen Larson with award for Songwriter of the Year runner up. Craig Langford is Songwriter of the Year 2017, but could not attend because of a performance commitment in Las Vegas


Here is a pdf of the program hard copy handed out at the event.  https://old.dallassongwriters.org/2017-awards-banquet-program-pdf/

See the 2017 song contest winners here:  https://old.dallassongwriters.org/2017-song-contes…inners-announced/

See the 2017 Summer lyric contest winners here:  https://old.dallassongwriters.org/2017-summer-lyri…inners-announced/

See the Best Songs of the Meeting and Songwriter of the Year Winners here:  https://old.dallassongwriters.org/best-songs-songw…r-year-announced/